top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

The Struggle Is Real.

"Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t". True story haha. Elle Woods knows what's up.

I regularly have people asking for tips to keep active and motivated. Not going to lie, it's hard juggling motherhood, and making time to work out amongst other things. And don't get me wrong - i'm just a regular mum like everyone else! Nothing fancy over here. There's often a trade off. Something usually suffers. That pile of washing ain't going to fold itself. The struggle IS real!! But, here are some of my personal tips that push me along, for those that need a little boost.

When it comes to being active, I am very goal orientated. Which is funny as I'm not particularly goal driven in other parts of my life... I always like to have signed up to events throughout the year, which keeps me motivated to stay fit, as I have something to work towards. If I don't have anything to work towards, I am very good at procrastinating and finding excuses not to exercise. Big events can be pricey too (travel, accommodation, entry fee etc) so there is often a financial commitment when signing up to these things. You don't want to pay for a $200 event, to not end up giving all you got!

So my first tip, is to sign up to an event that you think will be achievable, but will challenge you. For some that might be a 5km fun run. For others that might be a half marathon, or a local cycling or swimming event. It could be anything. Pick something that will motivate you, and that you will enjoy. It's often fun to sign up to an event with a friend too, so that you have someone to train with and do the event with on the day. I find that events are addictive. Once you start, you become part of this awesome supportive community, and you won't want to stop! There are heaps of cool women's only events too, such as Torpedo 7 Spring Challenge adventure race in the South Island and now also in the North Island. Crossing the finish line knowing all you put into getting there is the best. feeling. ever. For those after something closer to home, I know that Jennian Homes are holding a women's Mothers Day fun run in Christchurch on May 14th. There's heaps out there!

Secondly, being active is an excuse to do something for yourself. Now I know that's easier said than done, when you've got a family, work commitments... But it's so important that we prioritize ourself as parents. Even if it means, popping the kid in the pram, you still are doing something for yourself if you are able to get a quick walk around the block in. I always enjoy regularly updating my Spotify running playlist, and listening to music when I run that I wouldn't normally get to do with a toddler. And recently, I have been enjoying listening to Podcasts when I run. (Anika if you are reading this - the podcasts are great!) There is so much interesting information about everything and anything on podcasts! As a non working mummy, listening to podcasts helps to stimulate my mind and I learn lots from them.

I suppose the other thing is that I know how GREAT I always feel after I work out, and so even on days when I don't feel like it, that thought always drives me to get out of the house.

I hope this helps give some people some tips for getting out there! No frills. Just commit to something, have some fun with it, and do it for you!

Spring Challenge 2014. Doing events with friends build great friendships.


bottom of page