top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

What is The Active Mama?


So... about a month or so ago, I had this light bulb moment. This epiphany, eureka moment. My father had always told me growing up that we should always follow what we are passionate about. I have two passions in life - my first is being a mother, of course - do I have a choice...?? Just kidding... I love being a mummy to my boy Harrison. My second passion is being active, mainly in the forms of running and walking, but I am open to many other activities when (will I ever have time again??) time permits. I entirely put down surviving my first year of motherhood to a couple of different things. I have an amazing support network of family and friends (shout out to the Yummy Mummies, and my antenatal group, you gals are amaze) (shit better give some credit to my very supportive hubby too, you're awesome babe), and passionately believe that all mummies need a good support group behind them. And when possible, mum's need to make time for themselves to get active for general fitness and good mental well being. Being active totally saved my sanity during what could have been a make or break year of motherhood. Like I would be an absolute crazy person if I did not make time for myself to get out for a run and a walk whenever I can. I'm not a nice person (my husband will vouch for this) when I do not get out for some fresh air and a run.

Back to my original point... the light bulb moment. I decided wouldn't it be REALLY cool if I started a community group that combines all of the above things that I love and believe in.

The Active Mama was created out of my strong belief that every mother needs a solid support group to laugh, cry and drink coffee with, as well as participate in regular exercise in order to encourage good mental well being. The Active Mama seeks to motivate and inspire mums everywhere to take part in an active lifestyle, and encourage a sense of adventure, while having a laugh along the way. FREE Weekly sessions will be held on Monday mornings at 9am and Thursday mornings at 9am, at different locations around Christchurch which I will share on T.A.M. Facebook page. These sessions are places where mums (and mums to be) can meet up for a walk, have a chat with like minded people, be linked with support services, and know that you are normal, you are welcome, and you are doing a GREAT job.

What are the sessions?

Monday Mornings Walking Group (1-2 hours). Monday morning sessions will be held at 9am, at differing locations which I will share on my Facebook page, and on my website also. The differing locations are to mix it up, and encourage a sense of adventure. You might end up discovering some awesome new places around Christchurch! I will share the locations a few weeks in advance so you are able to plan for them. Monday morning groups will be for those who want to go for a walk on a pram friendly track. Coffee will definitely be an option at the end if time permits. Once a month I am going to throw in a hill option so if you want to pop the baby in the carrier, we can head out for a gentle hike (nothing extreme). Anyone is welcome to this group!

Thursday Mornings - Buggy Running Group (30mins - 1 Hour). Thursday mornings are for those **who have medical clearance to be exercising with their buggy**, and also enjoy running with the pram, who assume a reasonable level of fitness to do so. Many medical professionals will recommend waiting at least 6 months post birth until you are able to begin running again. Again, the courses will be on pram friendly terrain and in differing locations around Christchurch which I will share on my Facebook page so you can plan for it. I do not recommend the buggy running group to new mums, but more to those who are regular runners and are looking for mums to run and connect with.

I will regularly be inviting a 'guest speaker' to our group sessions, who specializes in physio, personal training, or nutrition to provide advice to our active mamas, where you will have the opportunity to chat with them one on one about any burning questions you may have. I am working on collaborating with a set group of people at the moment but if you recommend anyone, please let me know.

Do The Active Mama Sessions cost anything? Not at this stage! I am running this group out of passion for my cause.

Why have I called The Active Mama A 'Supermum Community?'. The Active Mama is here to change the stereotype of what a 'supermum' is thought to be. I want you to know that if you love your child, and you are doing the best damn job that you can, whatever that may be, then you my friend are a SUPERMUM. In my eyes, that means all mothers are supermums and you are freaking rocking it.

I have big plans for The Active Mama, and will be sharing them all with you as my ideas come to fruition. But between looking after a busy toddler and helping the hubby run our building business I will just be chipping away at this project in the back ground! Until then... i'll see you at the group sessions!

Robyn xo

bottom of page